Black-and-White

Before I start with ‘depression daily’ (it’s a joke but I like it!!) I found a brilliant cover of The Killers doing The Smiths “There is a light that never goes out”. Thank you Brandon Flowers (He touched my wife once you know. Legally I mean!!).

And yes I know the Smiths can be melancholy and depressing but I love that song for many personal reasons 🙂

There is a light…. you tube video

While my counsellor Laura has been away on holiday, my reading of choice she has left me with has been “Managing Flashbacks”. It’s hardly Lord of the Rings granted but can I please ask you kind people, are you successfully at the stage where you can and are managing your flashbacks? I’m very early on in trying but I just can’t do it, I don’t understand it and it’s upsetting me that I can’t. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr (that’s angry english speak for fuck it!)

This is what the book tells me –

“The first step is for you to notice and understand what happens to you while you experience a flashback. Think back to the last time you had a flashback or alternatively, wait until you experience the next one and try to remember the following and note them down

  • When did it happen?
  • What else was going on when it started?
  • Was anybody else with you?
  • Can you recognise any similarities between your current situation and the situation that you were transported to in your flashback?
  • Can you remember when you have felt this way before?
  • What do you think triggered it? (For example – thoughts, smells, sounds, pictures, feelings, tastes or reminders such as conversations, media or special events such as anniversaries.)”

eye drawn

My problem is I don’t see them coming yet and I don’t remember why they came in the first place so I can’t easily link them meaning I can’t easily manage them. I also don’t constantly have a notepad attached to my arm so I can’t note things down quickly all the time before they are lost. Perhaps I’m just giving up far too easily? I don’t know and it’s very frustrating that is all.

Seriously though, anyone mastered this? Do flashbacks go once they have been “dealt with” so to speak or are they forever following you around like a dark figure ready to pounce?

Thank you in advance 🙂

6 thoughts on “Forever comes to an end

  1. Flashbacks can’t be controlled. They can be managed by avoiding those things that trigger those flashbacks/certain memories, etc. You eventually learn what it is that triggers you, and can make plans (a safety plan for example) on what you can do, or someone else can do to help you through it. No one “masters” flashbacks, we just learn how to deal with it better. In my own experience, and those of others I know who deal with flashbacks, I’m not sure whether they’ll ever go away. Sometimes they can be gone for a while, and then suddenly out of the blue it shows back up again. Sometimes even as “new” triggers. I’ve heard EMDR is good for PTSD and flashbacks.

    Like

    1. Thank you very much for taking the time to reply. It’s really interesting reading indeed. I need to be a lot more patient and accept that there’s simply no easy fixes, I need to work better at management myself for sure. Thanks again, wishing you a nice weekend

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s definitely a slow process, and one that hasn’t “resolved” for me yet. It’s worth reading PTSD blogs here on WordPress. There’s a lot of good support here. 😊 Have a great weekend. 🌺

        Liked by 1 person

  2. So i.just had a big one about half an hour ago andIam inagony and i just emailed my T..she is on vacation and said I could and i am on vacation with my kids and grands and can’t talk to anyone but I think your questions are GREAT but it is too.hard to do them now..
    But thank you SO much for sharing them and I do love this clan we have…it is so great to share and I am just going to go and cry now. Thanks and hugs. TS

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your reply and your story. Really sorry to hear about you being in pain, this is one of my nightmare scenarios, being with my family when something happens I can’t control. I hope the weekend picks up for you and keep strong.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

